NovaSeq and Dada2 incompatibility.

Dear All,

I have been analysing NovaSeq 6000 16s rRNA V4-V5 data for the past few months. This is my first experience with NGS data analysis. As a novice, I was sideswiped by the fact that NovaSeq results were very different due to their binned quality scores. From multiple posts, the consensus is that Dada2 is not appropriate for NovaSeq sequences unless you can enforce monotonicity.

This leads me to the question, has Qiime2 implemented a way to run the Dada2 denoising algorithm by enforcing monotonicity? As the alternatives all point to R. Lastly would there be a possibility to add a note to the tutorials which include Dada2 in their analyses, to state that this is incompatible with binned quality scores (or specifically NovaSeq)?

Thank you for the continued great work with Qiime2!

Kind regards,

Johann

3 Likes

Hi!
Three options how to proceed with NovaSeq data are listed here or here.

Best,

Dear @timanix anix

Thank you for compiling the posts. I have seen and followed these suggestions. However, it is not clear from the Qiime2 tutorial (e.g. Moving Picture and Parkinson's Mouse) that NovaSeq samples should be analysed differently.

Therefore, I suggest adding a note in these tutorials to highlight the fact that you can't use dada2 through Qiime2 to process your data. As a newcomer, this was very unclear and I think it would help a lot of users not fall into the same trap as I did.

I hope I made this clear.

Kind regards,

Johann

1 Like

I would not say that one can not use dada2 as it is with NovaSeq data. It still can be processed in qiime2 and dada2.

Best,

1 Like

Hi @timanix

I don't think you quite understand the point I am trying to make. Could you please elaborate on what you mentioned?