Questions about the SILVA 132 QIIME-compatible database, and using it for taxonomic classification of 16S rRNA amplicons

Hi there,

I'm trying to understand which files in the SILVA 132 QIIME-compatible database (i.e. the Silva_132_release.zip directory available for download here) can be used for taxonomic classification of 16S rRNA ASVs in QIIME 2, and also how those files were constructed from the raw SILVA data. (If anyone's wondering, I know that 132 isn't the most recent release of SILVA, but it's the release I happen to be interested in.)

The Silva_132_release/SILVA_132_QIIME_release directory contains the following subdirectories:

• core_alignment
  • raw_data
  • rep_set
  • rep_set_aligned
  • taxonomy
  • trees

It also contains a Silva_132_notes.txt file, which supposedly explains all of these subdirectories and their files, but I'm quite new to bioinformatics, so a lot of the explanations are over my head.

The feature-classifier tutorial states that two elements are required for training a classifier using the feature-classifier plugin: "reference sequences" and "the corresponding taxonomic classifications".

Based on what @jairideout says in this forum post about Greengenes, it would seem that the rep_set and taxonomy directories are the directories I need for taxonomic classification (i.e. rep_set for the reference sequences, and taxonomy for the corresponding taxonomic classifications). And because I'm only interested in 16S sequences, I assume I need the rep_set/rep_set_16S_only directory and the taxonomy/16S_only directory. Is this correct?

Both the rep_set/rep_set_16S_only and taxonomy/16S_only directories have the following subdirectories:

What follows is my best attempt to understand very broadly how the files contained in these subdirectories were prepared, based on the contents of the Silva_132_notes.txt file. If someone could check my understanding and correct any errors, I would be very grateful!

The 'rep_set' subdirectories: