Running 'diversity core-metrics' using taxonomy

Hello!

I am quite new to qiime and microbiome analysis but have been playing around with the ‘Moving Pictures’ tutorial and other actual datasets. I don’t believe this question was answered anywhere else on the forum (hopefully its not a dumb question! :blush:).

I was wondering if it’s possible to run the ‘qiime diversity core-metrics-phylogenetic’ command on a feature table with taxonomy? Do both the feature table and representative sequences need to be run through the classifier?

Whenever I run the command I get the following plugin error:

qiime diversity core-metrics-phylogenetic
–i-phylogeny rooted-tree.qza
–i-table table-level-5.qza
–p-sampling-depth 3545
–m-metadata-file metadata.txt
–output-dir core-metrics-taxonomy \

(The table is collapsed btw! Also, the rooted tree was constructed from the original rep-seqs.qza)

Plugin error from diversity:
The table does not appear to be completely represented by the phylogeny.

I believe some of my confusion is coming from the fact that the tutorials go through doing it with OTU tables and only assign taxonomy after looking at the alpha diversity. Is there an advantage to assigning taxonomy and then doing diversity analysis?

Thanks so much!

Welcome @CuriousFox!

No such thing!

Short/oversimplified answer: no. After you collapse a feature table based on taxonomy, the new feature IDs (taxonomic labels) no longer correspond to the feature IDs in your phylogeny (ASV IDs). Hence the error message you received:

You could attempt to create a phylogeny that has taxonomies as tip labels, but this is not something that QIIME 2 can do right now... so you would need to do externally, then import that tree to QIIME 2.

However, that's an issue limited to phylogenetic methods. So qiime diversity core-metrics will still work with collapsed feature tables!