Reference Alignments: Best Way to Download Many Sequences from NCBI GenBank

TL;DR
What’s the best way to create a custom reference database that downloads reference sequences from GenBank for over 400 specified taxa, and four genes of interest, then format them for use in Qiime2? How can the plan below be improved?

Background:
I’m conducting an eDNA survey where we want to determine the presence of ~400 animal taxa in many different watersheds. We have primers for 16s, 12s, COI, and cytb that are known to work for the taxa we’re interested in, and know that at least one of those genes has been sequenced in each taxon and is on GenBank. I’m new to metabarcoding and Qiime2, so I wanted to make sure my plan was a good idea before going too far down a rabbit hole.

Plan
I figured I would analyze the genes separately – e.g. one round of Qiime2 for each gene, and one reference database for each gene.

To create the custom reference database for each gene, I wanted to create a script (probably in R at first, but eventually in Snakemake) that would loop/apply RESCRIPt over a list of our target taxa. E.g. for COI sequences from Anas fulvigula, the script would run RESCRIPt with --p-query ‘Anas fulvigula[Organism] AND COI[Gene Name]’, output the Feature[Taxonomy] and Feature[Sequence] files, then move on to the next organism. When the script finishes creating all the .qza files, it would concatenate them together to create one giant reference database for all sequences of COI in the taxa of interest. After that I would continue filtering, culling, de-replicating etc. to then train the classifier.

Questions

1. I see myself using a for loop/apply function here and know there’s probably a better way. Would it be better/faster to just run one giant search for each taxon separated by OR in RESCRIPt? Or faster to just use entrez, then format the sequence/taxonomy data to import into Qiime2? Or something else entirely?