Is there a "general" accepeted dysbiosis index or score?

Dear all,

I am new to the science of microbiomics and just started to learn about qiime2 with the help of the available tutorials (which are really great).

Now, I was wondering if a "general" accepted dysbiosis index or score for microbiomes exist. If so, is such an index/scoring system already implemented in qiime2 (maybe as a plugin)?

In the literature I found several attempts to define dysbiosis; often from an ecological view point that in a disbiotic microbiome a niche is not occupied and so pathogens can subsequently fill this niche (or due to changes in the host enviroment, e.g. pO2-changes, pathogens can occpuy a niche). However, to develop a score for dysbiosis based on this definition, the core metabolic functions of the (human) microbiome (as well as the potential probiotic or commensal bacteria which constitute this core) must be known. Bacteria which do not belong to this core, could then be scored as dysbiotic.

In your opinion, is the development of such a scoring system (or a similar one which relies on another definition of dysbiosis) possible and could be robust/meaningful?

An answer would really help me :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Not that I know of. However, I'm more on the numerical ecology side of things, and the clinical microbiologists may have better ideas!

Maybe! :face_with_monocle:

In this article from 5 years ago, @.Yoshiki had a clever idea for comparing healthy gut microbiome variance vs unhealthy / inflamed gut microbiome variance using an ordination.

The healthy plane is then located in UniFrac space by fitting a line to the major axis of the points (d ) and defining a least-squares fit to identify a plane that minimizes the sum of squares of distances to the nearest point on the plane
Dynamics of the human gut microbiome in inflammatory bowel disease | Nature Microbiology