How can we use QIIME2 artifacts for Krona?

Hello again,

Im new to bioinformatics, so i have just found Krona tool. I loved the graphs but i have not found a way to use qiime2 artifacts for this. Seems like there was a way to use biom files from qiime but with qiime2 nobody put much attention for this work. I have found an old topic about this but it died without a solution, so im bringing this up again if someone knows a way.

Also, something Krona-like could work for me, if you know a tool that would generate interactive graphs like Krona, please share with me.

Thank you…

2 Likes

Yeah, I was on that last thread. Looks like noone make a plug-in yet.

But… this is exactly the “export, convert, graph” workflow I mentioned last time!

And it looks like Calypso now supports Qiime 2, so that’s worth trying.
http://cgenome.net/wiki/index.php/Calypso

Let us know what you find!
Colin

4 Likes

This may be a really round about way to do it, but I used the OTU table that is generated, opened it in excel, sorted the OTUs by abundance, and just manually entered them ( I only needed top 20 per sample). A workflow would be really nice to have.

1 Like

i have seen AmpliSeq but i couldnt find krona_qiime.py in the files. is something wrong with me?
i will definitely check Calypso, thank you.

1 Like

I have tried Calypso with different methods, so let me inform you about how far i could go.

First time, I tried Calypso with NCBI taxonomy file. It didn’t parse. Something like unassigned taxa was the result.

Then, I suspected if it was configured to work with some other database since i could get results with ncbi taxonomy file (like taxa bar plots were looking like what i expected) but Calypso didnt work. So i tried it with greengenes database and this time it seems like it worked but i have problems.