Converting ASVs from DADA2 to OTUs

I am relatively new to Qiime. I need your help for this problem
Is it possible to convert the output of DADA2 (ASV) table into an OTU table? ( I already saw a previous publication about this topic : Converting ASV from DADA2 to OTU ) but I didn't really understand. if It's the case what command line I should write because Mr Matteo_Scanu putted the command line that permits to genetae the ASV I think not the OTU from ASV :confused:
I really need your help !!

Hello @Dali,

Welcome to the forums! :qiime2:

I'm glad you found that thread on conversion. I think it's a great resource! The answers to your questions are inside. :mag_right:

The 3rd post by Luca is extremely important because converting from ASVs to OTUs is usually a bad idea that you want to avoid!!

Review that thread carefully, then report back here.

Do you understand why OTUs are usually worse than ASVs?
For your study, do you still want to use OTUs, and if so, why?

2 Likes

thank you very much for your response !!
Actually I need OTU because I'm going to use picrust2 for functional prediction and as far as I know picrust2 works with OTUs

Fortunately, Picrust2 works great with both OTUs and ASVs, as mentioned in the Picrust2 Wiki!

There's even a plugin with Picrust2 plugin that makes this process even easier.

If you want to transform ASVs into OTUs, it's possible! Picrust1 does require closed-reference OTUs...

I'm sorry I've not been answering your questions very directly. I know a lot of guides on the internet are old and may show methods that are no longer current. My goal is to help get stuff done with modern methods, and often this means advising against methods I view as obsolete.

In the end, the choice is up to you.

2 Likes