Casava files of paired end reads

Hi all,

I am really sorry for silly question but i am very new to NGS and microbiota analysis. I am in learning phase and would like to get expertise in this field.

I received paired end fastq files of casava (R1 and R2) from illumina but not barcode file. Now i have fastq files of R1 and R2 as well as metadata file. I am not sure either my reads are already demultiplexed or i have to do it before importing them into qiime2.

Here is a look of fastq file. Could you please have a look at it and let me know whether or not it contains barcodes or they are already multplexed.

However, i used these fastq files and imported them into qiime 2. The overall quality of reads was fine but the minimum sequence length identified during subsampling was 35 bases.When i checked back my fastq files, the sequence length was more than 300 for each read.

I used dada2 for denoising and merging of paired end reads. Trucatioin length of forward reads was 240 and 190 for reverse reads. I had very few non-chimeric reads.

I further performed downstream analyses and found very few number of features for 4 million reads.

What do you think where i went wrong. I do not know why did i get less number of non-chimeric reads and features from 4 million reads.
It might be possible that my data was not demultipluxed and i used it as it was. If it is not demultiplexed, how can i do it using casava fastq files?

Regards
Muhammad

Hello and welcome to the forum!
It would be great to check your dada2 output stats to see at wich step you lost most of the reads. For example, if you lost a lot of reads at the merging step, that's mean that your forward and reverse reads are too short after truncation and do not overlap. In that case you need to set higher values for truncation and/or decrease minimum overlap parameter in Dada2.

If you you have R1 and R2 files for each sample in your metadata, that's mean that your reads are demultiplexed.

Hi timanix,