Beta Diversity Profiling & Significance Testing

Hi everyone,

Newbie here.
I am looking a way for significant test of my pcoa plot.
So I have generated the core-metrics-results for unweighted and weighted unifrac pcoa plot. I can view the emperor.qzv plot in qiime2. Is there any way for me to test the significant between groups? (if any code provided would be appreciated)

I also found to plot using microbiome-analyst software. It require a phylogenetic tree (.tre/nwk format). I tried with the tree generated from rooted and unrooted tree.qza, but it mentioned that "Tree tip labels do not match feature names in the OTU/taxonomic tables". Can anyone help me with troubleshooting please?

Appreciate! Thank you!

Hii @cgpeh,
Welcomer in the forum!

You can use the 'beta-group-significance' plug in. This is meant to do exactly what you asking for. If you look in the 'Moving picture tutorial' (“Moving Pictures” tutorial — QIIME 2 2022.8.3 documentation), in the 'Aplha- and Beta- Diversity' section you may find an example of the command and how to use it!

For your other question, there is one reason that I can think of right now, did you apply any filter in your data? Did you re-create the tree after the filtering?

Hope it helps,
Luca

Hi @llenzi ,

Yes, the online software requires OTU table and phylogenetic tree. I submit the OTU from taxonomy (after the filter) and phylogenetic tree (rooted-tree without filter). I guess that might be the reason. May I know how can I perform the filter for the phylogenetic tree too?

Thanks!

Hi @cgpeh,
Can I ask what do you mean with 'OTU from taxonomy' ? Could you send here a couple of line to see how it looks like?

What you should do, I believe, is to filter the representative sequences to keep only those in the filtered dataset and then repeat the tree-building process.

Cheers
Luca