Assessing only taxonomic diversity for each sample?

Hi there,

I’m really new to using QIIME2 and bioinformatics in general. I am currently assessing a small population of samples and I have followed the moving pictures tutorial as the basis of my assessment. I have generated all artifacts up to the bar chart visualisation step. I want to know if there is a way I can see how many unique assigned taxonomic OTUs there are in each individual sample from a pure diversity standpoint; a taxonomic diversity assessment for each sample. For example:

Sample 1
OTU1
OTU2
OTU3

Sample 2
OTU1
OTU3
OTU4

Sample 3
OTU3
OTU5
OTU6

and so on…

I want to do this so I can then take the taxonomic diversity from each sample and calculate how many samples are required to capture 95% of the variability.

Thanks very much.

Hi @ojholland,

Welcome!

But, also, whoa boy, this is a loaded question because it sounds like a power question, and... power is a complex problem, particularly in microbiome research... (Also one I happen to really like.) As such, I've moved it over into a general discussion topic vs user support, because its a lot more theoretical there.

This sounds a lot like something you might want to tackle with beta diversity. Its not a measure of purely unique ASVs/OTus/whatever, but it is a measure or shared or unshared features. Jaccard would address this question nicely: its the fraction of shared OTUs over the fraction of total OTUs.