Strange dependencies in my QIIME 2 environment

Hello, so I am new to qiime2 and I have the qiime2-2019.7 on Linux platform. At the moment, I have of forward and reverse fastq files for my samples in two batches. Though I have gone through the moving pictures tutorial, I still have problem importing my fastq files and the metadata.

P.S: I already used fastq processor to process my data to get barcodes, forward and reverse reads.

Thanks

Hi @slamcole,
Welcome to the forum!
Can you clarify for us what format your fastq files are and also what you have tried exactly to this point? Have you gone through the importing tutorial?
Do you have one single forward, reverse, and barcode file for all of your samples or one of each per sample?

Hi @Mehrbod_Estaki, initially assumed my fastq files were in two groups that was why I tried to merge them. but on closer look, what I have with are single forward, reverse and barcodes fastq.gz files and the sample-metadata.tsv which I got after running my raw fastq files through the FASTQ processor.

What I am trying to do right now is to import what I have as paired-end sequences.qza using the EMP protocol. But I kept getting this error

“There was a problem importing emp-paired-end-sequences: Missing one or more files for EMPPairedENDDirFmt: 'forward.fastq.gz”

Hi @slamcole,
Can you please provide us with the exact commands (copy & paste) you are using and the qiime2 version?
My first reaction is that the folder in which you are referring to in your command does not contain the filename forward.fastq.qz as it is expecting. The tutorial I linked should have a direct example of importing using this approach too.

Hi, so i was successful in making the emp-paired-end-sequences.qza. The challenge I have right now is semultiplexing. I am using the Atacama soil soil microbiome tutorial but I give getting the error plug in error from demux: