Low sequence count after DADA2

Hi all,
I am new in QIIME2 and I am working with paired end reads that came direct from Illumina sequencing. So I have three archives that I imported with the command:

qiime tools import --type EMPPairedEndSequences --input-path paired-end-sequences --output-path paired-end-sequences.qza

And then I demultiplexed with:

qiime demux emp-paired --m-barcodes-file cintiamapping4.tsv --m-barcodes-column BarcodeSequence --i-seqs paired-end-sequences.qza --o-per-sample-sequences demux_novo.qza --p-rev-comp-barcodes

When I look my demux_novo.qzv data I find high sequence count on my sample (illustrated bellow) and the following quality plot:

After I run denoise with DADA2 the number of sequence count is really low!
qiime dada2 denoise-paired --i-demultiplexed-seqs demux_novo.qza --p-trim-left-f 100 --p-trim-left-r 100 --p-trunc-len-f 260 --p-trunc-len-r 260 --o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza --o-table table.qza --o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza

I tried trim and trunc with several combination… but nothing gets better than the number I get with trim 100 and trunk 260. The following table.qzv illustrate what is the best I got so far…

table.qzv (320.4 KB)

I also tried use Deblur but I also get a low sequence count… actually I get no sequence.

Should I run using alternative methods? I was starting using this tutorial (Clustering sequences into OTUs using q2-vsearch — QIIME 2 2018.8.0 documentation) with my seqs.fna from QIIME1 and filtering with Identifying and filtering chimeric feature sequences with q2-vsearch — QIIME 2 2018.8.0 documentation

What should I do? Any help, tips, suggestions would be very appreciated!

Happy Holidays to all!
And many thanks in advance!
Cintia

Hi @cintia_martins!
How are you choosing your trim and trunc length parameters? There are lots of good discussions of that here on the forum (incl. 1, 2), as well as in the Atacama tutorial, and in the DADA2 docs.