ITS-metabarcoding, denoised data

Hello,
Excuse me I am quite new to the metabarcoding analysis,
I started to analyze 20 samples (Endophytes and soil samples), I run the following lines;
iime tools import
--type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]'
--input-format PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33
--input-path manifest.txt
--output-path sequences.qza
qiime cutadapt trim-paired
--i-demultiplexed-sequences sequences.qza
--p-front-f CTTGGTCATTTAGAGGAAGTAA
--p-adapter-f GCATCGATGAAGAACGCAGC
--p-front-r GCTGCGTTCTTCATCGATGC
--p-adapter-r TTACTTCCTCTAAATGACCAAG
--o-trimmed-sequences sequences-trimmed.qza

qiime demux summarize
--i-data sequences-trimmed.qza
--o-visualization sequences-trimmed.qzv

dada2 denoising

qiime dada2 denoise-paired
--i-demultiplexed-seqs sequences-trimmed.qza
--p-trunc-len-f 0
--p-trunc-len-r 0
--p-max-ee-f 3
--p-max-ee-r 3
--p-n-threads 20
--o-representative-sequences dada2-repseq_ITS.qza
--o-table dada2-table_ITS.qza
--o-denoising-stats dada2-stats_ITS.qza

and I noticed that the denoised samples was quite poor/ low as below ..

my question is what steps I should take in consideration to improve the results if there are any steps I should do ?

Thank you

Welcome to the forums! :qiime2:

Thank you for posting your full commands and DADA2 output stats. It looks like most reads are being removed during filtering, so let's work to improve that.

Have you viewed the sequences-trimmed.qzv file? This will show you quality throughout the read.
I usually trim off the low-quality ends of the read, which helps more reads to pass the quality filter.

See this post for more details: Why do I have more sequences (therefore more taxonomic groups recovered) when I use only my forward sequences ? - #4 by SoilRotifer

Let us know what you try next and if you have more questions!

2 Likes

if I changed that the :
--p-trunc-len-f 0 to --p-trunc-len-f 240
--p-trunc-len-r 0 to --p-trunc-len-f 200