I need a help for importing and demultiplexing my data

Hey there, I'm new to QIIME2, I am having some trouble when demultiplexing my data.

I have some illumina Miseq M3-M4 sequencing results from the sequencing company, they provided me some Multiplexed data and a 'barcode lookup table'.

Here is the data I got:
image image

This is an example of the R1.fastq.gz:

Here is the 'barcode lookup table' they gave me:

Based on these, I have made myself a mappingfile.tsv:

So here's what my problem is. I tried to import my data following this:
Then I demultiplexed my data using this:

Finally, I got a tsv file looks like this on QIIME2 View:

As you might notice, I only have a couple thousands of reads of my 72, 73, and 74 samples. But in face, I should have couple of ten thousands of reads.

How do i solve this problem? Can any one help in this regards?
Thanks for your valuable time.

Hi @Skyhalols,

Unfortunately I don't think the current version of QIIME2 demux command is able to demutliplex the "combinatorial barcodes" as in your case (where the same barcode sequence is used in more than one sample), please see:

I believe you have to find a tool to demultiplex the data outside QIIME2, then import them as demultiplexed samples.
Keep up posted how it goes
Luca

Hi Luca,

Thanks for the help.
I tried to find the barcode in the reads myself, but I couldn’t find any of it in the sequence.
Is it possible that the results are multiplexed, but there’s no barcodes in the reads? If so, is it possible for me to demultiplex the results?

Thanks,
Yuan

Also, could you recommend a software or a tool for me to demultiplex the 'combinatorial barcodes'? Because I am quite new to this subject and I do not have a background in computer science, I'm feeling quite lost when searching for other tools besides QIIME.

I'm looking at this one, but I don't know if it's useful to me or not.

Best,
Yuan

Hi @Skyhalols,