Filter taxa/samples and re-running alpha and beta diversity

Hello, I followed your tutorial and analyzed my data. I am studying the bacteria associated with a forest tree and a beetle, using qiime2-2020.2.
By reviewing the taxa bar plot and the data structure (mitochondria,unnecessary samples..) I decided to clean my table.qza and rep-seqs.qza (commands below), in order to run a new analysis with filtered data, starting from the ‘tree generation for phylogenetic diversity analysis’ step.

Input: Feature table tableJ.qza and Representative sequences rep-seqsJ.qza

Filtering out unnecessary samples

qiime feature-table filter-samples
--i-table tableJ.qza
--m-metadata-file metadata-filtered.tsv
--o-filtered-table tableJ_filter.qza

Filtering out all the organisms/organelles different from bacteria

qiime taxa filter-table
--i-table tableJ_filter.qza
--i-taxonomy taxonomy_SILVA_138J.qza
--p-exclude mitochondria,chloroplast,archaea,eukaryota
--o-filtered-table tableJ_idfilter_138.qza

Filtering the sequences

qiime feature-table filter-seqs
--i-data rep-seqsJ.qza
--i-table tableJ_idfilter_138.qza
--p-no-exclude-ids
--o-filtered-data rep-seqsJ_idfilter_138m2.qza

One difference that I noticed is that my new Feature Table “tableJ_idfilter_138.qza“ is not interactive and I cannot directly assess the sampling depth (See screenshot).
Feature table filtered

My question is whether now I should set a low (e.g. 100) sampling depth in qiime diversity core-metrics-phylogenetic, since I want to use all the samples. During the first analysis, I set the sampling depth at 1164 and I am afraid that if I use this value now, some samples would be discarded.
Do you usually proceed in this way to analyze the alpha and beta diversity of only bacteria, without being biased by other organisms/organelles?

Thanx

Welcome, @snones!

Sounds exciting!

Sounds good! A common problem, especially when looking at host-associated communities, and you are taking the right approach.