Error while denoising using dada2

Hey!
I'm new to Qiime2 so I am sorry if this is a silly and easy to fix problem.
I was denoising my data in Qiime 2 (paired-end demultiplexed data) and I've run into an error (after 4 days of running)
The command used was:

qiime dada2 denoise-paired
--i-demultiplexed-seqs demux.qza
--p-trim-left-f 13
--p-trim-left-r 13
--p-trunc-len-f 150
--p-trunc-len-r 150
--o-table table.qza
--o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza
--o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza

The error was:
Plugin error from dada2:

An error was encountered while running DADA2 in R (return code 1) please inspect stdout and stderr to learn more.

Debug info has been saved to /var/folders/d7/0rpznrmn0rvfhz7qb56q0f2hoooogn/T/qiime2-q2cli-err-m6vu59vi.log

I have no idea how to get that debug info...
I am using qiime2-2021.4

I would really appreciate if someone could help me with that.
Thanks a lot!
Tania

Hi @Tania_Aires ,
Welcome to the forum!

You can either re-run your commands and add the --verbose parameter to it which will print out the full error, or, you can always fetch the error log from /var/folders/d7/0rpznrmn0rvfhz7qb56q0f2hoooogn/T/qiime2-q2cli-err-m6vu59vi.log. You can print it using cat or something similar. Note however since this is a temporary file it may not still be there right now.

Hi @Mehrbod_Estaki
Thank you so much for your feedback.
You're right, I can no longer find the temporary file. I'll re-run the command using the --verbose parameter and I'll post the results. It might take a few days.
Thanks!
Tania

1 Like

Hi again @Mehrbod_Estaki

While this command are re-running with the --verbose parameter I went back and looked at my demux.qzv file and there's probably something wrong with it. I zoomed in and the interactive quality plot doesn't look normal (please see attached)...there are no box plots.
Any idea what might have happened? That might be the reason for the error message in the denoising step?