Which programing language better to learn for qiime? Linux or Unix? I have a Mac

I am a novice in programming and working on qiime for my NGS data. Which programming tool would be beneficial to learn? Unix or Linux? Knowing I have a Mac computer. Also, what other skills? I am learning command-line interface, basic python, Spyder IDE. Thanks in advance.

1 Like

I have a Mac too! Both MacOS and Linux are types of Unix operating systems, and you can run the same commands on both like cd, cp, pwd, and mkdir.

Getting experience with unix by using the terminal on your mac is a great place to start. Getting some more experience with python to make graphs is also very good. :snake: :qiime2:

Colin

4 Likes

Mac 4 lyfe Mac 4 lyfe

2 Likes

So, I’m with @colinbrislawn about getting experience with your terminal! I think getting comfortable with basic command line is about the best thing you can do. If you’re working on software with a CLI interface, you need to know how to function in the command line. You don’t have to be able ot like, have a conversation or write a for-loop, but you need the bash equivalent of basic manners (Hello, Good Bye, Yes, No, Please, Thank you, excuse me, sorry), which are things like pwd, ls, cd, mkdir, cp, mv, echo, and half a dozen other things that are covered in a good CLI intro.
Here is a cheatsheet from some of the QIIME workshops. There are a couple of good tutorials here and here as well.

But, to me, the three biggest skills you need to get good at bioinformatics aren’t actually programming skills. These are the skills i remind my PhD students about all the time.