Visualizations after feature-table group

Hello,

I am a student, just getting familiarized with sequencing analysis, so I am not even sure if I am asking the correct question, but here it goes:

I have a set of sequences from a lake, obtained on different holidays. There are 7 different timepoints across 3 holidays (and one control), with each timepoint containing numerous replicates. Each replicate is its own sample ID.

I am trying to group all of the replicates together, and I have used the feature-table group function to do this (using the mean ceiling method).

The question is how do I take this new grouped table and obtain visualizations with it?

For instance, when I try to summarize this table, the metadata file does not match, and I get the following error:

Plugin error from feature-table:

The following IDs are not present in the metadata: ‘ID2’, ‘ID6’, ‘LD3’, ‘LD7’, ‘MD1’, ‘MD5’, ‘NA4’

Debug info has been saved to /tmp/qiime2-q2cli-err-lw2476hf.log

Will I need to make a new metadata file? And if so, how exactly does feature-table group rearrange these samples? For instance, will the new metadata file need to only contain 7 rows, one each for the samples listed above in the error? And will the barcodes column need to be taken out or does this matter?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @jenglish,

Welcome and all questions are welcome!:sunglasses:
Thanks for providing the design of your project. Just want to confirm that when you say

You are referring to technical replicates and not biological replicates, correct? If these are technical replicates then your approach is correct and your new table can be used just as as you would with your old feature table. The only thing that would change, as evidence by your error message, are the new assigned IDs.
From the feature table group plugin page:

--o-grouped-table ARTIFACT PATH FeatureTable[Frequency]
                                  A table that has been grouped along the