Suggestion: Beginner flow chart tutorial

Hello all!

I’m a bioinformatics technician that has been working primarily with Qiime 1.9 and am now switching our lab over to Qiime 2. I have a few quick suggestions that may improve the ease of access for students and researchers that don’t necessarily know the jargon or might be transitioning as well.

1. An easy-to-follow road map for a general analysis.
Create a flow chart for every common data type that shows which plugins would be used at which steps for a general, all-around analysis. In my mind this wouldn’t be as much a tutorial (no example data/code) but more of a guide as to where you can go from each step with branches when options are present. This may be a somewhat complex flow chart but it could still appear clean with just the plugin names hyperlinking to their description pages.

2. The relations of Qiime 1.9 scripts -> Qiime 2 plugins.
One of the more difficult aspects of transitioning from 1.9 to 2 is the change of name/usage going from scripts to plugins. I realize that some things have changed completely and some steps which may have been multiple python scripts have been combined into single plugins, however, a quick mention of which Qiime 1.9 scripts relate to each plugin (or how a plugin may have taken somethings place) would greatly assist the folks that are transitioning.

3. A full explanation of what plugins are doing.
This may be a little too much, but what I have in mind is a way to more easily introduce people to Qiime or better yet, make it accessible to those without someone guiding them. The idea isn’t to explain the code in depth but to explain the operations it’s performing to your data and why that’s a good thing. It may not even need to be a written explanation but a simple link to a guide or Wikipedia page regarding the subject.

:grinning: Good job so far with Qiime 2 devs!

7 Likes