Strange demultiplexed sequence length summary

Hi,
So I am new to QIIME2 and after I believed that I manage to import my demultiplexed pair-end data by using:
qiime tools import
--type 'SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]'
--input-path /home/iulia/Ips-larvae-B/Ips.larvae.B
--input-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt
--output-path demux-paired-end-VB.qza
And I proceed with joining reads (I thought this would be the next step) by using:
qiime vsearch join-pairs
--i-demultiplexed-seqs demux-paired-end-VB.qza
--o-joined-sequences demux-joined-paired-end-VB.qza
Now I am getting a very strange demultiplexed sequence length summary, all in red:

What would you advise me to do?
Thank you.
Iulia

Hi @iuliachiciudean,

This really depends on what you are planning on doing with your data. If you are planning on using DADA2 to denoise your sequences, then you shouldn't merge your reads here, DADA2 will do that itself.
If you are planning on using Deblur to denoise your reads, or OTU clustering, then you are right to merge your reads first, but even then it is recommended that you ensure your sequences have gone through some sort of quality filtering step first. Check out this example for example in Moving Pictures tutorial.

As for what the red texts mean, check out this detailed explanation of the quality plots and let us know if you have any remaining questions. Thanks and happy :qiime2:'in.

Hi @Mehrbod_Estaki,
Got it! I understand the reasoning of not merging the reads now (I am planning on using DADA2). So I went on and generate a summary of the demultiplexing results.
demux-paired-end-VB.qzv (270.6 KB)
But I can not seam to understent how to use the quality plot to choose the parameters for `dada2 denoise method.
Based on my plot, should I choose to
--p-trunc-len-f 203
and
--p-trunc-len-r 227 ?
What about trimming? How to choose the trimming values?
I read some forum topics on this, but I am still unsure about it.
Thank you.
Iulia

Oh and other questions: