Interactive quality plot interpretation and colors

Hello,

I am new to interpreting quality plots of my data and had a question about the interactive quality plots produced in qiime2. Below is a screen shot of the quality plot for my forward reads:

Here is the file that gave me my quality plots frog2.qzv (289.9 KB)

I was wondering if someone could provide insight into interpretation and what the features of this interactive plot mean (what are the most important features to pay attention to?). Also, when zooming in on a certain section, the score plots are differentiated into two different colors, blue or pink (see below).

What do these different colors mean and why are they produced?

Any assistance is greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

Hi @Sarah_McGrath!

A box plot of the quality score distribution is shown for each position in your input sequences. Since it could take awhile to compute these distributions from all of your sequence data (e.g. millions of reads), a subset of your reads are selected randomly (without replacement), and the quality scores of those subsampled sequences are used to generate the box plots. By default, 10,000 sequences are subsampled (you can control that number with --p-n on the demux summarize command). Due to this random subsampling, if you rerun demux summarize on the same sequence data, you will obtain (slightly different) plots.

When you hover the mouse over a box plot for a given base position, the box plot's data is shown in a table below the interactive plot as a parametric seven-number summary. These values describe the distribution of quality scores at that position in your subsampled sequences.

These interactive plots can be used to determine if there is a drop in quality at some point in your sequences, which (for example) can help you with choosing truncation and trimming parameters when using DADA2.