Seeking Advice for Building a Computer for Qiime2

Hello,

I am a student majoring in microbiology, and I am looking to purchase a computer for microbial ecology analysis. I'm facing some difficulties because I lack extensive knowledge in this area, but I will provide the information I have in order to seek advice.

I plan to perform microbial ecology analysis using Qiime 2 on Ubuntu Linux, starting from raw Illumina MiSeq 2x300 paired-end sequencing fastq data, with approximately 15 to 30 samples, above 7GB in total size.

My questions are as follows:

• What are the recommended hardware specifications, including CPU, RAM, GPU, SSD, and any other relevant components, for efficiently handling microbial ecology analysis tasks?
  • Which component(s) of the computer's hardware specification are most crucial for optimizing microbial ecology analysis in Qiime 2?
    • Does the computer's hardware specification have a significant impact on the depth of analysis or the quality of results obtained from Qiime 2?
    • In general, how many hours or days should I expect to invest in processing a dataset of around 7GB with 15 to 30 samples using Qiime 2?

I would greatly appreciate any advice or recommendations regarding these questions.
Thank you in advance for your assistance and insights.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum!
I think this topic is quite covered already and one can find relevant topics by using "search" option on the forum, for example:
Link1
Link2
Link3

I would go for at least 16 GB of RAM and SSD from 256 GB. The higher you can get the better it will be. With CPU I would go for at least 6 if you want to run something in multithreaded mode (with a cost of RAM).

RAM and SSD capacity - You can easily run out of RAM or storage for temporary files while running some heavy tasks or large datasets. But 30 samples should be acceptable.

I guess it either can handle it or not, rather than the quality of the analyses will be dependent on the machine specs,