Reduced number of reads after cutadapt trimming

Hi all,

I'm relatively new to Qiime2 so, I'm sorry if this is a simple thing I could solve myself.
I am using qiime2-2021.4 and I have imported my demultiplexed data using a manifest. So far so good.

However, when trying to remove the primers, using the cutadapt plugin, I end up with much less reads per sample.

This is the command I've used:

qiime cutadapt trim-paired \
--i-demultiplexed-sequences demux.qza \
--p-adapter-f 'GTGYCAGCMGCCGCGGTAA' \
--p-adapter-r 'CCGYCAATTYMTTTRAGTTT' \
--o-trimmed-sequences demux_trimmed.qza \
--verbose

I attached the verbose results and below I will paste the screenshots of the reads visualization, from the before and after primer removal:

Before primer removal:

After primer removal

Any idea about what could have happened?
Thank you so much for your help!
Tania

verbose_cutadapt.txt (49.2 KB)

Hi @Tania_Aires,

Thank you for sharing the verbose output. This was quite helpful! :pray:

Cutadapt is doing a great job finding and removing your primers, as evidenced by the lines that look like this:

Total read pairs processed: 41,863
Read 1 with adapter: 39,783 (95.0%)
Read 2 with adapter: 40,782 (97.4%)

Your loss of sequences mainly has to do with these lines of the verbose output:

Pairs that were too short: 40,897 (97.7%)
Pairs written (passing filters): 966 (2.3%)

This is odd, as the default is --p-minimum-length 1. These appear to be the 515F-Y (5'-GTGYCAGCMGCCGCGGTAA) and 926R (5'-CCGYCAATTYMTTTRAGTTT), primers. Are you sure your sequencing approach actually sequences through the primer region? Some sequencing protocols do not, so there are no primer sequences to remove. Which means if anything is being trimmed and removed, is the result of spurious matching. Ask your sequencing facility which sequencing protocol they use. Though I could be wrong about these being spurious, and may not be the case given most of the reads where trimmed.