Questions about importing multiple samples in fastq EMP PairedEnd format

Hi everyone,

I am an undergraduate student in computer science and recently I am working on a bioinformatics project: metagenomic analysis using qiime2. Our rRNA 16S sequencing data is publicly available at https://www.ebi.ac.uk/ena/data/view/PRJEB26635 (at Submitted files (FTP) column).

In short, our proposed workflow is as the following:
Import => Demux => dada2 (denoise and join pair) => Assign taxonomy => Phylogenetic tree => Analyse alpha and beta diversity (optional).

Unfortunately, since I lack of biology knowledge (I am computer science student), I have troubles choosing the right import settings for my files (i.e., are those files demultiplexed or multiplexed, should I use EMP, Casava or Fastq Manifest? Should I demux them after imported or not? etc.)

Thus, I tried to import them in both fastq manifest and emp formats. Then I realise that manifest format allows me to import multiple samples (18 in total, paired end), whereas emp allows to import one sample at a time (I use qiime to extract barcode to proceed this importing). However, as I understand (from reading the tutorial), manifest format assumes the imported files are already demultiplexed. Thus, I tried to demux them with the .qza file obtained from EMP importing. However, I get confused as the demux command implies that I should have a sample-metadata that contains barcodes of multiple samples; whereas EMP importing command only let me to import one sample of a time. Can someone please clarify these procedures of importing and demultiplexing for me?

P/S: My partner and I already read through the tutoring docs several times. Thus, merely saying “read the tutorial” won’t help much. If possible, we prefer specific quotes from the tutorial docs so that we would know where we overlooked. Thank you in advance!

Hi @Kiet_Ho,