Qiime demux summarize error with NextSeq data

Hello,

I am new to qiime2 and am hoping to gain some more insight into the workings of qiime2. I have Illumina NextSeq data in which I edited the file names to match that of the Casava1.8 format and was able to successfully import my data files into .qza file format, but I cannot seem to get qiime demux summarize to work.

-Data import step that was successful:
qiime tools import --type ‘SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]’ --input-path /data/ylor/qiime2/paired-end-demux/ --source-format CasavaOneEightLanelessPerSampleDirFmt --output-path /data/ylor/qiime2/paired-end-demux/demux-paired-end.qza

-Error message for qiime demux summarize:
qiime demux summarize --i-data /data/ylor/qiime2_test/qiime2/paired-end-demux/demux-paired-end.qza --o-visualization demux-paired-end.qzv
Plugin error from demux:

[Errno 2] No such file or directory: ‘/tmp/qiime2-archive-87olkysj/47081ec5-d972-4b07-b9f3-81f17b8c3899/data/GAIM01_S35_R1_001.fastq.gz’

Debug info has been saved to /tmp/qiime2-q2cli-err-e0jg1yrp.log

-Did I use the wrong --source-format when importing my data to get this error message? I previously tried --source-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt, but it was not successful:

qiime tools import --type ‘SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]’ --input-path /data/ylor/qiime2_test/qiime2/paired-end-demux/ --source-format CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt --output-path /data/ylor/qiime2_test/qiime2/paired-end-demux/demux-paired.qza
There was a problem importing /data/ylor/qiime2_test/qiime2/paired-end-demux/:

Missing one or more files for CasavaOneEightSingleLanePerSampleDirFmt: ‘.+_.+_L[0-9][0-9][0-9]_R[12]_001\.fastq\.gz’

-Can someone clarify the difference between SingleLane and LaneLess for CasavaOneEight data import format?
-Should I use a completely different data import format?
-What am I doing incorrectly? Any help/suggestions are welcome.

Thanks!

Hi @ylor!