Primer sequence for feature classifier

Hello,

I’m new to QIIME and have a quick question about using the feature classifier. I am training a 18S feature classifier using MaarjAM. I used a mix of 7 (each forward and reverse) primers to amplify the 18S region.

Here are the forward primers:

ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACACAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACAAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACATAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACAGTAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACACGTAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT
ACACTGACGACATGGTTCTACAACGTAGCAGCCGCGGTAATTCCAGCT

Here are the reverse primers:

TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTTCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTATCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTCATCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTTCATCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC
TACGGTAGCAGAGACTTGGTCTATCATCGAACCCAAACACTTTGGTTTCC			

Others I have talked to have said they have used the longest F/R primer sequences to train the classifier. Is this correct, or would it make more sense to use just the sequence that is common to all of the primers? Please let me know if I can provide any more information. Thanks!

Mariah

Hi @mmcintosh,

Welcome! Thanks for posting!