Pick up a Right Alignemnt Method.

Dear admins,
Many researchers are working on 16S gene. What factors are required to apply global (Vesearch) or local (Blast+) alignment? What criteria are there to pick up a right one?
Thanks
Qiimer

The papers (BLAST, VSEARCH) are a good place to start. The VSEARCH paper in particular spends some time comparing its (optimal) algorithm to BLAST’s optimal-with-certain-parameters approach.

4 Likes

Thanks, sir.
Just a simple question I have. Many people use the Vesearch classifier for 16S analysis. Would it be problematic to use the Blast+ classifier for analysis 16S reads?

I’m not an expert on this, @TurboQiimer, but BLAST has been around for a long time, and I’d be surprised if there’s a “problem” with using it in this context. As with most things, I suspect your decision is going to be one of “what’s the best tool for the job?”

BLAST is a popular tool in NCBI website. There is no any doubt that it is a useful and effective tool in alignment, but based on survey in Qiime2 forum, I recognized Vesearch is widely used in classification. I read the two papers you suggested to me. The part I needed was mentioned in mathematics or algorithmic way, that I could not catch more. Yeah… you are right! I want simply to know which one is the best, Vesrach or Blast, although it sounds BLAST output represents that it works well in my case! I am just in dilemma, indeed!
Thanks your guidence in advance.
Qiimer

I'm not really sure how to answer this question, because it depends on how you define 'best'. If you were asking about protein alignment, I would say blast (because vsearch does not do protein alignment :wink:).

In your comparison, are you using positive controls with a known taxonomic composition? How does the vsearch and blast+ classifications compare to your expected results?

Colin

1 Like

If you look at this, you will see Blast generates more and mote taxa rather than Vesearch!!!