Online courses to learn 16s metagenomic analyses

Hello everyone!

I have just got my bachelor's degree in Biology and I'm learning how to analyse 16s data to interpret the effects of phytobiotic additives on animal productivity through changes in gut microbiota. I'm doing it on my own and it's a whole new world to me. This is why I started to learn how to use QIIME2, after doing some research about the best and easiest softwares/pipelines for beginners (dummies) to learn.

I've been learning how to use qiime for three months now and haven't been able to perform a single analysis because I keep having difficulties and errors on the steps previous to the analysis itself. I wonder, am I just doing it all wrong? Should I try a simpler pipeline (if it even exists)? Or is this just normal difficulty?

I've been having a lot of help form the forum, lots of very patient people have been helping me and I believe it makes a great community to learn. But I wonder if there is something more I could be doing to learn on my own, so I'm here to ask if you people have any recommendation in that matter. Is anybody aware of online courses or something like that, about 16s metagenomics analyses (not necessarily qiime)? I see there are lots of bioinformatics courses, but they don't really get into metagenomics on a deeper and more specific level.

I'm a little worried because I really need to learn how to analyze this data to keep my job, so I highly appreciate your thoughts on the matter!

2 Likes

Hi @microbiotaphyto ,

I hope others chime in here, as I have not used any of these resources so cannot give really valuable input! But I just want to shed light on some existing resources that I know about.

The QIIME 2 website lists some external resources... the Coursera course sounds like maybe what you are looking for (though this might be theory rather than practical, I am not sure):
https://docs.qiime2.org/2022.2/supplementary-resources/