[Newbie] HELP in making a classifier from a FASTA and taxonomy file from an online database

Hi, I am very new to Qiime2 and I would like to create a classifier for the pmoA gene. I downloaded a .fasta and.tax file from an online database [pmoA gene reference database (fasta-formatted sequences and taxonomy)] .

Link to the actual file I downloaded [Index of /download/10.5880.GFZ.5.3.2016.001]

As instructed in this tutorial [Training feature classifiers with q2-feature-classifier — QIIME 2 2018.2.0 documentation], I am trying to import the .fasta file using this script:

qiime tools import
--type 'FeatureData[Sequence]'
--input-path taxonomy/pmoa7809.fasta
--output-path taxnomy/pmoa7809.qza

However, I got this error message:

"There was a problem importing taxonomy/pmoa7809.fasta:
taxonomy/pmoa7809.fasta is not a(n) DNAFASTAFormat file:

Invalid character '.' at position 0 on line 10 (does not match IUPAC characters for this sequence type). Allowed characters are ACGTRYKMSWBDHVN."

To be honest, I am not even sure what is the error here since the author of the database clearly states that this is compatible with qiime2 and the fasta file looks normal to me.

Anyway, I am running this script using Qiime2 in a conda environment using the terminal in Ubuntu 20.04.3 LTS

Any help is very appreciated especially I need this file to complete my master thesis. Thank you very much in advance.

Hi @pkmnsandy, welcome to :qiime2:!

You are certainly on the right track, however there seems to be some incorrect formatting with these reference sequence files. As the error message states:

Invalid character '.' at position 0 on line 10 (does not match IUPAC characters for this sequence type). Allowed characters are ACGTRYKMSWBDHVN."