Need help in in silco PCR from WGS

Dear Qiime2 community.

I am a complete novice to the field of Bioinformatics and have recently managed to analyze bacterial diversity in sea surface aerosols using 16S amplicon sequencing with Qiime2, mostly thanks to valuable and useful information that this community constantly provides (seriously, many thanks for that!).

I am now looking to employ microbial source tracking to identify the contribution of various sources to the airborne diversity observed in my study. However, these kind of software typically requires reference communities (also known as “sources”), and unfortunately, we could not collect water samples during the sea aerosols sampling campaign.

I am considering using data from the TARA ocean sampling campaign, particularly the whole genome sequencing data from Sunagawa et al., 2015 (https://doi.org/10.1126/science.1261359). My concern however, lies in the compatibility of this whole genome sequencing data with my amplicon sequencing data (V3-V4 regions). Is there any possibly to adapt or “translate” these WGS to match the 16S V3-V4 for comparative analysis? I thought about in silco PCR on WGS using the primers from my amplicon sequencing, but I am unsure how to proceed nor if this is even possible.

Alternatively, would it be more practical and relevant to directly use amplicon sequencing data from a different 16S region, such as the V4-V5 region found in Lang-Yona et al., (Terrestrial and marine influence on atmospheric bacterial diversity over the north Atlantic and Pacific Oceans | Communications Earth & Environment)?

I would greatly appreciate your insights on this matter, as well as any other suggestions that could assist in resolving my “source tracking” issue.

Thank you in advance for your guidance.

Best,

F

Hey @FloRos,

welcome to the forum!