Memory considerations

Hi Mehrbod,

I read your replies on: How much RAM do I need to run the DADA2 program?:

I have related question to ask.

My laptop have the following specs:

• Intel Core i5-7200U @ 2.50GHz

• Sockets 1, Cores 2, Logical processors 4

• 500GBHDD

I would like to install Qiime2 (Native through miniconda) . I have sent my samples for amplicon sequencing (Illumina HiSeq 2500). 2 samples for 16s and 2 samples for 18S (so total 4 samples).

May I know if my laptop able to process the data? Or should I upgrade RAM? If yes, how much is better?

I do not sure yet what function I will be used, but basically I want to run raw data that we receive from company that run our sample. Maybe we will analyze for OTU and taxonomic assignment. I am sorry, because I am still new in this. .

Besides that, I also will use ARB software to analyze sanger sequecing results. (Less than 100 samples.

Can I just install all the software in my computer?

I plan to upgrade RAM to 8GB or 12GB/16GB.

What your opinion based on your experience? Can I still use my laptop for other basic task (internet browsing, MS office) while running the softwares?

I hope you can help me. Thank you.

Hi @ilhamimani

This should probably be posted as a new topic so one of the developers maybe want to re-categorize this.

What is the operating system you are using? You mention a native install so I would guess this is a mac or linux system? If that's not the case consider that some of your processing power and memory will be spent to run QIIME2 via a virtual machine. You also want to make sure you are running a 64bit OS otherwise the increase in RAM isn't going to do anything for you. That out of the way, to answer a few of your questions.