Large differences between Qiime2 and BaseSpace sample sequence counts

Hi,

I am new to using Qiime and am trying to work through the pipeline with some 16S V4 paired-end sequencing reads. I have got as far as demultiplexing the data.

Comparing the per-sample sequence counts between those produced by Qiime 2 demultiplexing and those produced by BaseSpace, I noticed that the BaseSpace per sequence counts are far higher with nearly all samples with totals a lot higher than 1000. Whereas, for Qiime2 the vast majority of samples have counts less than 1000.

Therefore, I was wondering what could be causing this discrepancy in the demultiplexing results. Am I doing something wrong in the Qiime 2 command line?

My sequences were produced using the EMP protocol and consists of paired-end reads with a single 12bp barcode on the forward primer

I am running Qiime2-2021.8, installed via Conda.

To import the files I used the following commands:
qiime tools import --type EMPPairedEndSequences
--input-path xxxxxxxxxxx
--output-path xxxxxxxxx/paired-end-sequences.qza

To demultiplex I used these commands:
qiime demux emp-paired
--i-seqs xxxxxxxx/paired-end-sequences.qza
--m-barcodes-file xxxxxxxxxxxxxx/demux_metadata.txt
--m-barcodes-column barcode-sequence
--p-rev-comp-mapping-barcodes
--o-per-sample-sequences xxxxxxxxxxxxx/demux-full.qza
--o-error-correction-details xxxxxxxxxxxxx/demux-details.qza

Thanks for any light you can shed on this issue

Welcome to the QIIME 2 community, @aghudson!

I can't say specifically, since I don't know what methods are being used on Basespace.