Interpretation of quality plots

Hello, this is my first time using Qiime2. After looking at the different interactive quality plots made by other users, I am unsure whether mine looks correct or needs denoising.

This is what my quality plot looks like.

1 Like

Hi @Miri_J,

Welcome to the forum! :qiime2:

These quality plots are unusual. Could you give us more information about the sequencing technology used, and/or the type of the data that you imported?

Thanks!

2 Likes

I forgot to include, this is what my fastq files look like

@VH01105:5:AAAMVF3HV:1:1101:19027:1000 1:N:0:CATCAGGCGT+CGTGTTACCG
GATGGAAGCTGTTACTGTGCTCACCAAGGAATGAGCATCTGAGCCAGTGACTGAGGAGGTGGCACCTGACCTGGCTTCAGATGTACATGGGTAGGAACTGGCTACTCACATTAGATCAGGAAGACAAACTTCTCATTGGACCTTTTGTCTT
+
CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC;CCCCCCCCCC;CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC-CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC
@VH01105:5:AAAMVF3HV:1:1101:21450:1000 1:N:0:CATCAGGCGT+CGTGTTACCG
GAACAGCACCATCGAACGCAATGCCCACTCCGGATCCCGCGGTCCACCGGGTGCAGGCCCAGCGCGTGCTTGTGCGGGACGGCGAAGAGCACGCCCGCGCTCGTGTCGACGTCGATCTCCCCCAGGATCCGTCCCAGGTTGGCGGCCTTGG
+
CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC--CCCCCCCCCCCCCCC;CCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCCC-CCCCCCCCCCCCCC;CC
@VH01105:5:AAAMVF3HV:1:1101:22776:1000 1:N:0:CATCAGGCGT+CGTGTTACCG
ATATTGATTCTTCCTATCCATGAGCATGGAATGTTCTTCCATTTGTTTGTGTCTTCTTTTATTTCATTGAGCAGGGGTTTGTAG
+
1 Like

Thanks for the prompt reply!

This is metagenomic data based on Illumina DNA reads. There were 5 samples (s1-s5) paired and all prior steps produced 0 errors.

1 Like

Hey @Miri_J,

Thanks for the clarification. Do you know of any prior quality-filtering steps that may have been performed on the reads? I ask because (as you have probably seen from other sequence quality plots) there is usually significant variation in the scores.

1 Like