Interactive quality plot does not match sequence

Hi,

I am new to QIIME2 and bioinformatics. After going through the tutorial, I begin to run my analysis.
However, something strange happens when I try to visualize the sequence quality to determine the length to truncate.
My data is demultiplexed pair-end reads. and I am targeting V3-V4 region using 341F 806R and Illumina Novaseq.
I firstly remove the barcode and primers all together using command

qiime cutadapt trim-paired \
--i-demultiplexed-sequences ${demux_paired_seq}  \
--p-front-f CCTAYGGGRBGCASCAG  \
--p-front-r GGACTACNNGGGTATCTAAT  \
--p-error-rate 0.1  \
--o-trimmed-sequences ${demux_paired_trimmed}  \
--p-cores 40

Which results in length of 227 and 224 in forward and reverse reads respectively. Then I use the command to generate qzv file. I am using snakemake here.

qiime demux summarize --i-data {input}  --o-visualization {output}

When I use qiime tools view to visualize the qzv file, strange thing happens

I am not sure why the length in the interactive quality plot is still 250, but in the sequence length summary plot, the total length is 227 and 224 bp respectively.

Another question is, I am targeting v3v4 region, which is 465 bp length, since I have barcodes included in the sequence which is 6bp each, the effective sequence length is 244 bp. So even I does not truncate any further, the maximum overlap I can get is only 23 bp (244 x 2 - 465). Based on the quality plot I got here, should I truncate any further? or not to truncate to make sure merging?

Thanks in advance for your kind help.

Ming

Welcome to the forum, @Ming!
Cutadapt trim-paired searches your sequences for the adapter sequences you provide, and removes them if it finds them. If it doesn’t find a match, it can’t remove anything.