Incorporating metadata when using manifests

Hello!

I'm new to using Qiime2 and am working through my first project. My import step involved a manifest, as I already have demultiplexed fastqs:

qiime tools import --type SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]
--input-path wihs_cvl_16s_manifest
--output-path demux.qza
--source-format PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33

This works without a problem. But I notice that I'm then skipping the demultiplexing step that incorporates my metadata file.

At a later point when tabulating meta data like this:

qiime metadata tabulate \

--m-input-file demux-filter-stats.qza
--o-visualization demux-filter-stats.qzv

i get an error like this:

There was an issue with viewing the artifact demux-filter-stats.qza as metadata:

Non-string Metadata index values detected. There may be more errors present in this metadata. Sample/feature metadata files can be validated using Keemei: http://keemei.qiime.org

I used Keemi to make sure the format of my .tsv metadata looked good and it gave me a green light.

I'm now wondering if the error is due to a lack of metadata incorporation - due to the demultiplexing that I skipped.

Your thoughts are much appreciated!

Andrew

Hi @atgustin!

Since your data are already demultiplexed, the demultiplexing step isn't necessary. When demultiplexing, the metadata file is used to look up the barcode sequence associated with each sample, but in your case the barcodes have already been removed and your sequences have been split into per-sample FASTQ files.

Can you provide the wihs_cvl_16s_manifest file you used to import your FASTQ files? My hunch is that you have a sample ID called NA or something, which doesn't work with current QIIME 2 releases (that issue will be fixed in the upcoming 2018.2 release; we'll follow up here when that happens). Thanks!