Importing the demultiplexed merged data

Hi!

I have used Qiime many times in my previous projects, but this is my first time using Qiime2 and I am having trouble starting the analysis.
I got the demultiplexed and merged data (R1 and R2 joined) from the sequencing facility and the quality is also good.
The way I am planning to do the analysis is:
-Import the demultiplexed merged data into qiime artifact.
-Denoise the data using deblur
-Downstream analysis.
I would like to know if my approach is correct?
Also, when I am trying to import the data into qiime artifact but I am getting an error.
The command I am using:

qiime tools import --type SampleData[JoinedSequencesWithQuality] --input-path pe-joined-manifest.csv --output-path paired-end-2samples

There was a problem importing pe-joined-manifest.csv:

Importing 'SingleLanePerSampleSingleEndFastqDirFmt' requires a directory, not pe-joined-manifest.csv

My manifest file looks like:

# joined paired-end PHRED 33 fastq manifest file for forward reads
Pool-1,$pth/Pool-1_1.fastq,forward
Pool-2,$pth/Pool-2_1.fastq,forward

I would appreciate any kind of help.

Thanks.

EDIT:
I was able to import the data by moving my manifest file in the same directory as my samples fastq files.
But please let me know if my strategy is correct.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi bioingo_C,

I am facing the same issue and cannot get any help. Your post is the closest one. Could you please tell me exactly how you managed to import your data?
When I moved manifest file into the same directory where my fastq files are located, I am still getting the error message:

Missing one or more files for SingleLanePerSamplePairedEndFastqDirFmt: '.+_.+_L[0-9][0-9][0-9]_R[12]_001\.fastq\.gz'

P.S. I am working with paired-end data, but don't think it matters here at this point.

Hi adoloman,

I think moving the manifest file to the sample directory is not that important as later I checked without moving and was able to import the data.