From list of 12s OTUs to a taxonomic classification

Hello dear community,

absolutly beginner here - I am taking my first steps with QIIME2 and I am so lost (although I am working through the tutorials). Any pointers would be much appreciated!

I have an OTU list (all processed already, ~200 OTUs) in fasta format that I converted into a QIIME artefect. Now I need to do a taxonomic classification and I'm completely stuck on how to do that.

Would rescript (?) give me a NCBI (reference?) database? And if yes, how would I proceed from here? I have 12s sequences and expect mainly mammals, birds and fish. Maybe a combination of MitoFish and NCBI?

Sorry for the really basic question! I've gone back to university after many years in applied conservation and bioinformatics is completely new to me.

Thanks all!

1 Like

Hi @marcelwinter , welcome to the :qiime2: forum!

You are in luck — @SoilRotifer even put together a tutorial for building a 12S database here.

Once you have your database, you could proceed analyzing your own data as shown for bacteria or fungi in other tutorials, but using a 12S database instead. I have never used 12S myself, though, so there might be some other quirks to 12S analysis, e.g., maybe some parameters that need to be adjusted. Perhaps others on the forum with 12S experience can give their input if there are.

Good luck!

4 Likes

Thank you @Nicholas_Bokulich, this is awesome :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hey @Nicholas_Bokulich,

I followed your detailed tutorial for my approach.
Things I adjusted are the taxa to "txid7711", the default ranks "kingdom phylum class order family genus species", set the min_bp to "150", and the max_bp to "800".

I trained my classifier and classified my OTUs (qiime feature-classifier classify-sklearn \ --i-classifier ncbi-12S-refseqs-classifier.qza \ --i-reads sequences.qza \ --o-classification sequences_tax.qza).