Feature-classifier extract-reads

Hi!

I am currently using version 2020.11 of qiime2 installed through WSL and Ubuntu. I am currently running extract-reads on the Midori reference database, and have run into a similar problem as these topics. It has been running for around 48 hours now. I’m very new to bioinformatics and was worried I had done something wrong at this step. I am attempting to trim the database with the following primers:

f-primer: GGWACWGGWTGAACWGTWTAYCCYCC
r-primer: TANACYTCNGGRTGNCCRAARAAYCA

It seems like the high level of degeneracy in the primers may be contributing to the long runtime, especially with a database as large as Midori. Has anyone else had success with trimming this database? Or found this step to later improve accuracy for the CO1 region? I was just wondering if there had been any updates with this.

Any insight is much appreciated!

3 Likes

How large is midori? My guess is "very large" because this method can take some time on very large databases :grin:

Absolutely! Longer primers and more degeneracy will increase runtime even more

You can use the --p-n-jobs parameter to run this in parallel, reducing the wait (though at 48 hr in I don't know if it's worth just waiting until completion or how much longer you have left to wait :man_shrugging:)

Generally trimming is beneficial — there are a few publications (for 16S) showing improved classification accuracy, but this will also reduce runtime downstream so is a worthwhile step to perform if this is a trimmed database that you will use again and again (for classification, alignment, filtering, or whatever)

For COI specifically, @devonorourke tested this here:

and describes steps to reproduce that database here:

1 Like