extremely low "merged" score after using DADA2

Hello, I'm very new to Qiime2 and I've been having constant problems with the merged percentage in using DADA2 on my 16S data. (I have experienced no problems with my 18S results). I'm going to try and list everything I've tried so far, and maybe someone could help, it would be much apreciated!

• Primers used: 341F- CCTAYGGGRBGCASCAG
    806R- GGACTACNNGGGTATCTAAT

• Command used: qiime dada2 denoise-paired --p-n-threads 8 --i-demultiplexed-seqs p02_primer_trimmed.qza --p-trunc-len-f 231 --p-trunc-len-r 162 --output-dir DADA2_denoising_output --verbose > out.log

I already changed my tunc length several times all with very similar results

• other trunc lengths I already used: f231 r186 / f210 r184 / f210 r173 / f231 r162;

• My primers are trimmed

• I'm going to try and upload my quality score and denoising stats

I have seen other Topics very similar to mine, but never with such low numbers, I'm not sure how I could proceed now. As mentioned, I'm very new to this, so I'm sorry if I'm not grasping something here. Thanks in advance for any hep

p02_primer_trimmed.qzv (295.4 KB)

denoising_stats.qzv (1.2 MB)

Hi @Mandy,
Thanks for providing your output files and commands, they are certainly helpful!
From looking at your dada2 result summary table it looks as though almost all of your reads are failing to merge, this is because your reads do not overlap based on your truncating parameters. This topic has been extensively covered in the forum, please have another through, keeping an eye out on keywords like dada2, overlap, merging etc.
One example is here or here, keep in mind min overlap for merging is now 12 nts (not 20). Have a read through those and see if you can figure out optimum truncating parameters and let us know if you are still having issues.
Good luck!

1 Like

Hi, thank you for your immediate reply!