Error when running DADA2 metadata tabulate

Hi there,

I’m new to QIIME and still learning so sorry if this is an obvious question/answer.

I’ve just run the DADA2 code and got the following outputs:
rep-seqs-dada2-trim1.qza
stats-dada2-16Strim1.qza
table-dada2-16Strim1.qza

I’m trying to run the next step from the Moving Pictures tutorial (the metadata tabulate):
qiime metadata tabulate
–m-input-file stats-dada2-16Strim1.qza
–o-visualization stats-dada2-16Strim1.qzv

However when I run that line of code with my stats-dada2 output this error message comes up in bold red letters:
There was an issue with loading the file stats-dada2-16Strim1.qza as metadata:

Metadata file must be encoded as UTF-8 or ASCII. The following error occurred when decoding the file:

’utf-8’ codec can’t decode byte 0xc0 in position 14: invalid start byte

There may be more errors present in the metadata file. To get a full report, sample/feature metadata files can be validated with Keemei: https://keemei.qiime2.org

Find details on QIIME 2 metadata requirements here: https://docs.qiime2.org/2018.8/tutorials/metadata/

I am slightly confused as to why the error appears and what it means? Do I need to load my personal metadata file I’ve created into QIIME first? (If so why is that not a step in the tutorial?).

I’ve been through the plugins to see if there is extra code I should add but I’m not sure what I need to/if I need to.

Any help would be great :slight_smile:, thanks, Grace

Hi @ebolyen, I got a notification you replied but can’t see the reply anywhere. I’m new to QIIME forum so still navigating my way around. How do I view your reply?

Thanks for your help
Grace

1 Like

H @Grace1 — you didn’t miss anything — the notification you saw was for the assignment of @ebolyen to respond to your question. @ebolyen has not yet responded — stay tuned!

Hi @thermokarst - thank you for clarifying! I’ll get used to QIIME and the forum eventually :joy:

1 Like

Hi @Grace1,