Demultiplexing Help

Hi,

I am fairly new to QIIME2 and I am trying to run some data. I extracted barcodes and reads (renamed to sequences) through QIIME1 and now I am trying to import and demultiplex which I believe is the source of my problem. It has no problems running through the import (type EMPSingleEndSequences) and demultiplexing commands, however the .qzv file I get from the summarization only has three of 84 samples.

After running

qiime dada2 denoise-single
--i-demultiplexed-seqs demultiplexed-seqs.qza
--p-trim-left 8
--p-trunc-len 0
--o-representative-sequences rep-seqs-dada2.qza
--o-table table-dada2.qza

I get this error:
No reads passed the filter. trunc_len (0) may be longer than read lengths, or other arguments
(such as max_ee or trunc_q) may be preventing reads from passing the filter.

Is there anything wrong with what I am doing?

Thanks!

Hey @Dean - I suspect something is quite right with your barcodes. Can you provide the following:

• What version of QIIME 2 are you running?
  • Can you confirm that your reads are single-end? I see you are running dada2 denoise-single, but want to be sure.

I was going to ask you to run head on all of your files (before and after extracting barcodes in Q1), but, I realized this might be a great use case for q2-cutadapt! You should be able to skip Q1 here, and just import your raw (barcoded) reads, then use the cutadapt demux-single command to demultiplex these reads. How about you give that a shot (check out the Community Tutorial for some assistance, too)? That might be easier, and we can’t really provide support for Q1 anymore, which is likely where the issue you originally reported is cropping up. Keep us posted! :t_rex:

Hi,

• I am currently running QIIME 2 2017.12
  • The reads are single-end, multiplexed.