Deciding where to trim in Dada2 on paired end reads?

Hello!
I'm completely new to the world of QIIME2 (and python in general) so my apologies for this very naive series of questions.

I'm running qiime2 2020.11 in conda and processing some mouse microbiota samples. I've made it from importing my pair ends, processing them in dada2, assigning taxonomy and even producing bar plots (yay!). However, I've struggled identifying the correct trim/trunc combination to use for these data.

I've tried tried a few different combinations based on what I've read in forums here and consulting with other scientists. All of these have given me plausible but different community compositions.

Here's how my demux file looks:

Based on this, which would be "better":

--i-demultiplexed-seqs demux-paired-end.qza
--p-trim-left-f 0
--p-trim-left-r 0
--p-trunc-len-f 270
--p-trunc-len-r 230
--o-table table.qza
--o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza
--o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza
--verbose

(results in approx 12,000 features)

or

--i-demultiplexed-seqs demux-paired-end.qza
--p-trim-left-f 13
--p-trim-left-r 13
--p-trunc-len-f 270
--p-trunc-len-r 230
--o-table table.qza
--o-representative-sequences rep-seqs.qza
--o-denoising-stats denoising-stats.qza
--verbose

(results in approx. 6,000 features)

If I understand correctly, this huge difference in output is due to the fact that one run trims the first bps i.e. the primers. What are my best strategies to figure out whether to trim or not/which suggestion is best?

Also, I've read that I should check to make sure I have a good overlap between my paired-end reads. Is this available in one of the output files dada2 generates or do I need to run a separate command to check this?

Thank you in advance!

2 Likes

Hi!