data import type and directory format

Hi, I am new to working with micorbial data and have been searching through the qiime forum for answers but I haven't found anything that fits my exact problem.

I have been working to import data process it on Qiime2 2020.2. The data is from a paper that uploaded sequences to NCBI SRA. I downloaded 22 files (of 239) which were part of one run from NCBI into a directory. The general file format is EERfileID.fastq.gz format. I have them on my directory but I cannont import them to qiime2 without errors.

This is the code I have run:
qiime tools import
--type PairedEndSequences
--input-path import_devries
--output-path paired_devries.qza

but I keep getting this error:

The main thing comfusing me is the "Semantic type PairedEndSequences does not have a compatible directory format" error. I don't know if the data I have is in the correct format/the format it should be in. Based on the import, atacma, and moving pictures tutorial fastq.gz formats are alright to use/import to qiime. Is there antoher format the files should be in?

The data should be paired end reads but I cannot tell R1 from R2 and don't know if I need to specify this or if doing so would remove the error. If I need to import all 239 files from NCBI I can but am not sure if that will fix the directory format.

If anyone has advice regarding this/importing from NCBI, I'd apprecaite the help!
Thanks!

Hi @cal1037,

I think you’re missing information about the Semantic type. PairedEndSequences aren’t a semantic type, you need the SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality].

Have you taken a look at the data importing tutorial? I find it really helpful.

Best,
Justine

Thanks for the quick response and help @jwdebelius!