Creating fastq manifest formats from a single multiplexed fastq file

Hello,

I am new to Qiime2 and is facing some difficulties importing my fastq file. I have a single fastq file containing multiple paired end sequence reads. Based on what I understood, this means that the fastq file is multiplexed. According to online platforms, I should import them using the fastq manifest formats and treat them as single end reads.

I followed the steps as stated in the Qiime2 docs on importing data, however it keeps telling me that an error has occured. It says that my file is not a SingleEndFastqManifestPhred33 file. I was wondering if I am missing a step? How should I convert my fastq file to a manifest format?

Here’s a printout of the fastq file I am trying to import:
(qiime2-2019.7) xmok@LAPTOP-U2LIB4T0:~/QIIME2/16S$ head 16S.fastq
@A8.S501.N705.R7_000000001 M04529:115:000000000-BN78B:1:1101:17721:1125 1:N:0:33
TACGGAGGGGGCAAGCGTTGTTCGGAATTACTGGGCGTAAAGGGCGCGTAGGCGGTCTGTTGCGTCAGGTGTGAAAGCCCCGGGCTCAACCTGGGAGGTGCACTTGATACGGGCAGGCTAGAATCCGGGAGAGGATGGTGGAATTCCCAGTGTAGAGGTGAAATTCGTAGATATTGGGAAGAACACCGATGGCGAAGGCAGCCATCTGGACCGGTATTGACGCTGAGGCGCGAAAGCGTGGGGAGCAAACA
+
GGGGG@EGGGGGG@GGGGGGGGGGG?GGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGDGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGFGGGGFGFGFGFGFFFGGGGGGFFGGGFFFGGGGFGGGFFFGGGGFGGFFFGGGGGGGGGCEGGGGFGGGGGGFE;GGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGGGDGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGFGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG
@A8.S501.N705.R7_000000002 M04529:115:000000000-BN78B:1:1101:8843:1148 1:N:0:33
TACGGAGGGGGCAAGCGTTGTTCGGAATTACTGGGCGTAAAGGGCGCGTAGGCGGCCGGTCGCGTCAGATGTGAAAGCCCCGGGCTCAACCTGGGAACTGCATTTGATACGGGCTGGCTTGAGAACGGAAGAGGAGTGTGGAATTCCCAGTGTAGAGGTGAAATTCGTAGATATTGGGAAGAACACCGGTGGCGAAGGCGGCACTCTGGTCCGTTTCTGACGCTGAGGCGCGAAAGCGTGGGGAGCAAACA
+