Analyzing whole-metagenomic shotgun sequencing data with V4 amplicon sequence data

Is it possible to analyze whole-metagenomic shotgun sequencing data with amplicon sequence data of the V4 region?

I am doing my thesis and I have two cohorts who have V4 amplicon sequence. So it was quite easy to merge them to analyze together. But, now that I have another cohort with whole-metagenomic shotgun sequencing data, I'm confused if I could use this data along with the previous two.

And if it is possible in the qiime2 pipeline? how could I make these whole-metagenomic shotgun sequencing data?

1 Like

Hi @turtle,

You may find these papers relevant:

There's a Greengenes2 plug-in for QIIME 2, you can learn more here:

I personally haven't used it (yet!) but it might be starting place.

Best,
Justine

1 Like

Please can you just tell me how could I use Woltka? Because they just told me to pre-process the data first. I just downloaded whole genome sequence data from the SRA database using the fondue plugin. But what I'm seeing in the Woltka tutorial they have used a .qza file against a taxonomy.qza file.

qiime woltka classify \
  --i-alignment align_sam.qza \
  --p-target-rank genus \
  --i-reference-taxonomy taxonomy.qza \
  --o-classified-table table.qza

But I don't have that file yet. Then how could I use Woltka to pre-process my shotgun sequence data?

1 Like

Hi @turtle,

I don't have a cookbook. Partially becasue while this is published, it doesn't mean its straightforward. Partially becasue as I said, I have't done this yet. And partially because there is never a "just" in microbiome bioinformatics and the answer is always dependent on your data and your goals.

When I look at the q2-Woltka tutorial, they link to a taxonomy and tree file. So, that might be somewhere to go. But, I think first you need to figure out the align_sam bit.

Best,
Justine

3 Likes

@jwdebelius