where to find debug info

hi everyone, I am new to qiime2.
When I ran DADA2 today with the practice in qiime2.org(https://docs.qiime2.org/2019.7/tutorials/atacama-soils/), I met a error, and it says: An error was encounted whild while running DADA2 in R (return code 1), please inspect stdout and stderr to learn more. Debug info has been saved to /tmp/qiime2-q2cli-err-z1sd4cat.log.
I want to see the info but I can’t find it in my file and also can’t find it with search tool. I am really confused, does anyone can help me?

Good morning Mavis,

In the same terminal that you used to run the command, type this:
head /tmp/qiime2-q2cli-err-z1sd4cat.log

That should show the first few lines of that file, which is located inside of /tmp/ instead of a more common location like Documents or Downloads.

Let me know if that works for you. Often times the error is also printed in the terminal, so instead of opening the file, you can also just scroll up and look for the error there.

Colin

2 Likes

@Mavis run all of your commands with the --verbose flag added to the command, and any error messages will print to the terminal instead of appearing in the log file.

1 Like

Thank you very much for you reply!
I just added the code before the --o-representative-sequences, and the --verbose code works well !

Because of your help, I know how to see the bug info (Although I haven’t known how to deal with the bug, I feel happy because I can know what’s wrong with my code !)

Thank you again!

Mavis

Thank you very much for your answer! And I try the head code, it works well !

The reason why the log’s name is different is because I lost the result I got yesterday and ran these code again. the “head” code can show me several lines of log successfully!