What is the nice way to interpret phylogenetic gneiss?

Hi,
I’m very new in the gut microbiome researching field, and want to ask any idea to use phylogenetic gneiss effectively. I think gneiss is the best way to obtain output data that is easy to understand.
The new ilr-phylogenetic command in qiime2-2018.8 is a better solution in that way, in my opinion, and I’m struggling interpreting this output. Interpreting phylogenetic gneiss’ output should be performed just like the PhILR paper, but littlebit hard to identify the balance of interest.

The way I performed was;

1. Convert newick tree into data.tree object with {data.tree} R package.*
    {data.tree} package enables me to filter balances with hierarchical levels.

2. Review every balance’s p-value in specific hierarchical level.
    Because the balances with higher levels in hierarchy may be more important in phylogenetic classification, I dug hierarchy one by one from root.

3. Plot partial tree or list taxa composition of significantly changed balance that is important in phylogenetic classification.

I know this is worse way to interpreting phylogenetic gneiss’ output. The most difficult problem will be how to determine balances of interest.
Any comments from anyone will be appreciated!

Hiro

1 Like

Hi @Hiro,

At a first glance, this seems to be a legit solution -- especially given that the phylogenetic ilr transform here was inspired by PhILR. Note that PhILR is doing a weighted ILR transform, incorporating the branch lengths into the transformation, which we are not doing here.

Right -- choosing good balances is still super tricky problem. When looking for good balances I try to weight the following simultaneuously

1. Size of coefficient (since this is an estimate of effect size)
  2. Pvalue (since this is an estimate of confidence)
  3. Number of zeros (since this give some measure of bias).

The first two are enabled through the pvalue heatmap (see tutorial for more details).