Unexpected Error during Import [PairedEndFastqManifest]

Hello, I have been trying to import my sequence data through the PairedEndFastqManifestPhred33V2 protocols, but have been getting this error code in red when I try to import by manifest file - "An unexpected error has occurred:
Unknown expression: <class '_ast.List'>" and some more debug info. This error seems to be unrelated to my data set, but I am stuck on how to fix it. I am a beginner to this software so any suggestions appreciated.

Hi @Hayley_Guay!

Sorry to hear you're running into problems, but unfortunately we are missing quite a bit of important information necessary to help you! Please provide the following:

• The version of QIIME used
  • The exact command or commands run (copy-and-paste)
  • The complete error observed

Thanks! :qiime2:

This is a screenshot showing the exact command I entered and the entire response it gave. Please let me know if you need to see anything more. I am using qiime2 (2021.4) Thanks!

I have been trying different methods to import my files but no such luck yet - it seems like Ubuntu(qiime2) is not able to access to files on my local disk in order to import. Is there any way to check if I have missed a step importing? I am following the protocol that I completed the tutorials with, adjusted for my dataset. The screenshot shows the command and error I have been getting.

Anyone have any ideas? Running this on a windows computer, still qiime2-2021.4

1 Like

Hi @Hayley_Guay!

Looks like you've got a few issues here!

The issue here is that you have a typo in the --type parameter - you specified [PairedEndSequencesWithQuality] when you probably meant SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]

There is an issue with the --type here, too - you have specified an invalid type for the particular --input-format you're using here - you can update this to SampleData[SequencesWithQuality]. Please see this tutorial for more details.