Understanding cutadapt trim

I am new to metagenome sequence analysis and am having a hard time understanding the arguments and syntax in cutadapt trim. First, Can someone clarify what the adapter sequence consists of for this command? Is it a sequence called adapter by whatever library kit was used to generate the sequence library? Is it the primers used for the gene of interest? Is it the barcodes? Or is it all of the above?

If the adapter is a sequence called adapter provided by the library prep kit. Could someone check this command to help me figure out if I am trimming my sequence appropriately according to the --p-adapter- and --p-front arguments.

{
qiime cutadapt trim-paired
--i-demultiplexed-sequences analysis4/demux_paired_end.qza \ # Input demuxed sequence artifact SampleData[PairedEndSequencesWithQuality]
--p-adapter-f GTCTCGTGGGCTCGGAGATGTGTATAAGAGACAG \ # Sequence of an adapter ligated to the 3' end. Search in FOWARD read. Used REV adapter sequence
--p-adapter-r GTCTCGTGGGCTCGGAGATGTGTATAAGAGACAG \ # Sequence of an adapter ligated to the 3' end. Search in REVERSE read. Used REV adapter sequence
--p-front-f TCGTCGGCAGCGTCAGATGTGTATAAGAGACAG \ # Sequence of an adapter ligated to the 5' end. Search in FOWARD read. Used FWD adapter sequence
--p-front-r TCGTCGGCAGCGTCAGATGTGTATAAGAGACAG \ # Sequence of an adapter ligated to the 5' end. Search in REVERSE read. Used FWD adapter sequence
--o-trimmed-sequences cutadapt/trimmed_demux.qza
}

If the adapter is a barcode or I want to remove the barcodes from my sequence, how can I do that without having to repeat the same line of code for each of my barcodes and samples?

Thanks in advance for any guidance.

Hello @SoilSynCom,

First, Can someone clarify what the adapter sequence consists of for this command? Is it a sequence called adapter by whatever library kit was used to generate the sequence library? Is it the primers used for the gene of interest? Is it the barcodes? Or is it all of the above?