Trouble compressing fastq files to fastq.gz and importing to qiime2

Hello,

I am new to QIIME2 and fairly unfamiliar with the Linux operating system. I received a compressed file of multiplexed single-end sequences with barcodes in sequences and I am trying to follow the importing tutorial for QIIME2 on a Ubuntu virtual computer.

The first thing I did was unzip the original .tar.bz2 file in Ubuntu and moved the unzipped fastq file to my working directory. I then used the gzip command in the terminal to create the fastq.gz file:

$ gzip sequences.fastq

Next, I created the metadata.txt file and used the following command to create the .qzv file.

$ qiime metadata tabulate 
--m-input-file mymetadata.txt 
--o-visualization tabulated-sample-metadata.qzv

However, when I try to import the fastq.gz file by executing the following command, I get an error:

$ qiime tools import 
--type MultiplexedSingleEndBarcodeInSequence --input-path sequences.fastq.gz 
--output-path multiplexed-seqs.qza
There was a problem importing sequences.fastq.gz:

sequences.fastq.gz is not a(n) FastqGzFormat file:

Missing separator for record beginning on line 57741453

I have deleted the fastq.gz file and started over by recompressing the original fastq file again and I always get the same error about the fastq.gz file not being a FastqGzFormat file, although the description of the error after the colon has mentioned other problems in previous attempts ("missing separator for record beginning on line ....").